Thoughts on progress Assignment 1 / Part 1.

I’m not going to write about the Learning Outcomes until Part 2 of the assignment has been completed but I thought it would be good to make made a note here of how I’m progressing and what I’ve been up to. 

I used Affinity Publisher to create my PDF’s for the assignment, this was a huge learning curve for me. I’m still tearing my hair out each time I use it but it will useful for making mock book  layouts etc. I’m finding peer networking invaluable, whether via my blog or student Zoom meetings. I’ve made yet another PDF (see below) taking on board suggestions by fellow students. Unfortunately, I was unable to add the video of my fabric print as an interactive element but have added a hyperlink to it on Vimeo. I’ve moved my name on the front cover more to the right hand side and enlarged the text in addition to moving the title above the cover image. I think this latest PDF is certainly an improvement on the previous ones, I will wait to chat with my tutor about it. 

Public relations network / list of upcoming Open Calls. Preparing material for submission. 

I’ve entered a few Open Calls, each has slightly different criteria to follow prior to submitting the images. I keep and update a list of upcoming calls with a hyperlink to each site but I think it’s also important to be selective as to which ones to enter. I was thrilled that one of my Hireth images was included in Photograd’s updated online gallery & Instagram page. I joined fellow L3 students in a collaborative entry to the Belfast Photo Festival.      

I’ve treated myself to a new  A3+printer and have managed to set it up without too much stress. I’ve done some test prints & am very impressed with the results so far. 

My website has been update and new projects added. 

Resource network. I’m keeping  a list of useful resources. Contrado for my fabric prints,  Photography supplies, paper & ink etc. I use various sources. 

Professional feedback / Portfolio reviews will be added to the LO post when Part 2 of the assignment has been completed. 

9 thoughts on “Thoughts on progress Assignment 1 / Part 1.

  1. Andy

    Looks great to me. And fingers crossed for open calls (as always). Also, the advice I gave re. adding page numbers is pointless given that you don’t use Word and save as PDF. I’m an Affinity Publisher virgin, I’m afraid 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Judy Bach Post author

      Thanks Andy, I’ve got Word & Keynote which both can be used to create PDF’s but decided to do battle with Affinity instead 😭! I’m still non the wiser as to how to add numbers but I’m sure I’ll work it out …. eventually 🤣.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.